leftCCE Division HomeCCE Division Degree ProgramsCCE Division FacultyCCE Division Facilities and ResourcesCCE Division Searchright
HomeHistoryFaculty & ResearchSeminarsGraduate ProgramUndergraduate ProgramCareersContactsLinks
John H. Seinfeld

John H. Seinfeld
Louis E. Nohl Professor & Professor of Chemical Engineering

B.S., University of Rochester, 1964
Ph.D., Princeton University, 1967

Office Location: 227 Spalding Lab
Mail Code:
(626) 395-4635
Fax: (626) 796-2591

Seinfeld Research Group

Atmospheric chemistry and physics, Aerosols

Awards and Honors
Wallace Memorial Fellow, Princeton University (1966-1967); Donald P. Eckman Award, American Automatic Control Council (1970); Camille and Henry Dreyfus Foundation Teacher-Scholar Grant (1972); Curtis W. McGraw Research Award, American Society for Engineering Education (1976); Allan P. Colburn Award, American Institute of Chemical Engineers (1976); Thirty-Second Institute Lecturer, American Institute of Chemical Engineers (1980); Public Service Award, NASA (1980); National Academy of Engineering (1982); William H. Walker Award, American Institute of Chemical Engineers (1986); Fellow, Japan Society for the Promotion of Science (1986); George Westinghouse Award, American Society for Engineering Education (1987); Special Creativity Award, National Science Foundation (1988); Service Through Chemistry Award, Orange County Section of American Chemical Society (1988); Distinguished Alumnus Award, College of Engineering and Applied Science, University of Rochester (1989); Fellow, American Academy of Arts and Sciences (1991); Award for Creative Advances in Environmental Science and Technology, American Chemical Society (1993); Fellow, American Institute of Chemical Engineers (1995); Fuchs Award, International Aerosol Research Assembly (1998); Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science (1999); Warren K. Lewis Award, American Institute of Chemical Engineers (2000); Nevada Medal (2001); Haagen-Smit Clean Air Award, State of California Air Resources Board (2003); Fellow, American Geophysical Union (2004); Atmospheric Environment Haagen-Smit Award, 2004; ASLI Choice Award, “Atmospheric Chemistry and Physics”, Atmospheric Science Librarians International, 2006; Aurel Stodola Medal, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (2008); Doctor of Science honoris causa, University of Patras (2002), Carnegie Mellon University (2002), Clarkson University (2009), Tyler Prize (2012), National Academy of Sciences (2013).

©2004 California Institute of Technology. All Rights Reserved.


California Institute of Technology California Institute of Technology